REVIEWS

Check out what people are raving about.

TELEVISIONMEDIAYOUTUBEYELP
TELEVISION
logo-featured-cooking-channel

BEST THING I EVER ATE

Season 8 | Episode 6

logo-featured-netflix

UGLY DELICIOUS

Season 1 | Episode 7 | Fried Rice

MEDIA PUBLICATIONS

“The house-special lobster is the dish to get” at this midpriced Chinese chainlet incorporating Vietnamese, Cambodian and Thai influences into its “excellent” menu; “massive crowds” “are the only downside”, but “service is prompt” once you’re seated and the settings are “tasteful”too; P.S. “bring a large group so you can try as many dishes as possible.”

VIEW WEBSITE

Certificate of Excellence (2014-2019)

Rated #1 of 152 Restaurants in San Gabriel

TripAdvisor gives a Certificate of Excellence to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers.

2019-excellence
2018-excellence
VIEW WEBSITE

50 Best Chinese restaurants in the United States

Newport Tan is one of the most acclaimed Chinese restaurants in the San Gabriel Valley, especially known for its house special lobster. It’s smart to come with a large group so you can order a variety of seafood, such as fish with basil-and-walnut shrimp. If you’re craving red meat, the filet mignon cubes are outstanding.

VIEW WEBSITE

LA’s 23 Most Iconic Restaurant Dishes – Spring 2018

A legendary dish that draws crowds every night, this stir-fried lobster, pulled live from massive tanks in the front of the restaurant, is a classic Cambodian-Chinese showstopper with green onions, ginger, and garlic. Everyone will fight for the tails and claw, but the true aficionados go for the the head, best eaten with some sauteed greens and bowl of fresh rice.

VIEW WEBSITE

The story behind the spicy lobster at Newport Seafood

In today’s chef-driven culture, significant attention and praise are given to the culinary brains behind the stove, and here that credit belongs to Lam’s husband, Ly Hua, who developed the restaurant’s signature dish, a massive Maine lobster blasted in a wok with green onions, jalapeños, black pepper and clarified butter.

VIEW WEBSITE

99 Things to Eat in LA Before You Die

Newport Seafood’s Spicy Lobster — There are other things on the menu at Newport Seafood, and some of them are even good, but the Vietnamese-Chinese restaurant, which occupies a remodeled Marie Callender’s, might as well have no menu at all: The throngs, most of which have waited a couple of hours for a table on a Saturday night, are there for the house-special lobster, a mammoth beast fried with chiles, black pepper and scallions, a dish as essential to Newport Seafood as chili dogs are to Pink’s.

VIEW WEBSITE

99 Essential Restaurants

“The lobster of Newport clocks in at 5 pounds or more; it comes out fried and fiery red, showered with black pepper, chiles and scallions and not so much placed as heaped on a plate. Most tables, you’ll notice, also have a spread of clams, shaking beef (bo luc lac), pan-fried pork chops and fried rice, all of which are very, very good and, as it happens, pretty much represent all that is wonderful about eating in the San Gabriel Valley.”

VIEW WEBSITE

Taste Test: Newport Seafood

“The seafood was good quality, and the lobster looked amazing, so it would be worth another trip to try it. The bill came out to $20 each for the five of us, including tip, with just tea to drink– not bad for very satisfying six course dinner.”

VIEW WEBSITE

Alive with Pleasure by Jonathan Gold

“First among equals, of course, is the spicy lobster, which is as essential to Newport Seafood as chili dogs are to Pink’s. People take Newport lobsters home to Saigon, Taipei, Tokyo and Phnom Penh, the waiters boast. The lobsters are like the ones at Crustacean in Beverly Hills, they say, only twice as good and half as expensive…Did the lobster live up to the dream? Yes, I confess: It did.”

VIEW WEBSITE

Best Los Angeles Seafood Restaurants

At this family-run restaurant, the menu — in English, Chinese, Vietnamese and Thai — expresses the cultural blending that is the experience of the Chaozhou Chinese, who migrated to Southeast Asia in the 1850s. There are influences from Cambodia and Thailand, resulting in seafood fare that is refreshingly light.

VIEW WEBSITE

Newport Seafood is an SGV classic. It’s an upscale restaurant, popular with families out for a nice Sunday lunch. And when you’re out for a nice Sunday lunch here, you should be ordering the whole lobster. It’s covered in spring onions, chilli, and ginger, and the smallest one you’ll be offered will be at least four pounds. That doesn’t mean you should ignore the rest of the menu – the peppery, slightly sweet Beef Lak Lok needs to be ordered too.

VIEW WEBSITE
YouTube

THE BEST SEAFOOD EVER

icon-flewchewchoo

THE BEST LOBSTER IN LA

icon-davidsriracha
YELP
  • James B.

    James B.

    9/2/2020
    Newport Seafood should be one of your go-to spots for large groups or get-togethers because they not only have large tables, but there are so many delicious items that you need a large group to enjoy everything.

    During this crazy 2020 year of Covid, the dining area is closed, but they were open for takeout service, so call ahead and make an order! Support local businesses.

    Food Take out Edition:  All of the following are super delicious!
    Newport Special Lobster - get this with the noodles. It will not disappoint! This is a must get for those special occasions with groups.

    Beef Luc Lac - A favorite of my loved ones. Juicy flavorful pieces of beef.

    Basil Clams - I don't always order clams, but when I do, it's at Newport Seafood. Fantastic after heating it up shortly when getting home. My friends love this dish as well.

    Salt & Pepper squid - It got soft and slightly soggy on the drive home, so I recommend air frying it for about 7-10 minutes before eating.

    Honey Walnut Shrimp - Love it! Not too saucy and yet still flavorful.

    Salt & Pepper Pork - I absolutely love this dish in the restaurant, but it doesn't preserve well on the drive home. I'll order it when dining area is open but not for takeout
  • Nelson L.

    Nelson L.

    12/7/2020
    Got there 5.5lbs Lobster for Thanksgiving, me and my coworkers enjoyed it. One of the best I had in a while.
  • Roxana H.

    Roxana H.

    10/25/2020
    Omg this place has such a very good food!!
    We ordered special lobster , clams with basil soup, beef loc lac, green beans and white rice
    All was delicious and big portions to share !! Also they offer to choose a Robert Mondavi wine with your order!!!
  • Michelle L.

    Michelle L.

    4/22/2021
    Visited Arcadia and after seeing so many 5 star reviews on Yelp, I had to try this place! We placed our order over the phone and scheduled a pick up time. By the time we arrived, the food was ready and still warm! We got honey walnut shrimp, beef loc lac, and pea sprouts to go. Honey walnut shrimp is one of my all time favorite dishes and it did not disappoint. Definitely also try the beef loc lac! Everything was yummy and super generous portion sizes - had a ton of leftovers for 3 people!
  • Ta S.

    Ta S.

    12/6/2020
    I came last night to place an order of lobster and clams, they gave me a number and told me to come back in 15 mins. We walked around and went to a liquor store to pick up some drink and some dessert. When i came back the food was ready. Service was nice. The food was on point and very fresh, i love how the noodle soaked into the sauce and tasted so goo, they have a promotion of free wine for order from $150, pretty cool deal for family size orders. Wish i have a big family so we can order a lot of food and share
  • Jen W.

    Jen W.

    6/11/2020
    Newport seafood is the go to place if you're craving some Chiu-Chow style seafood. We always get the house special lobster and now you can add the yi-mien (noodles) on the bottom to soak up all the gorgeous flavors. The basil clams, salt and pepper shrimp, beef cubes and pea sprouts are always a nice addition to any meal. If you want to do a simply lunch, the lunch specials here are super affordable and delicious (lobster is unfortunately not on that special menu, but you can get all the other dishes recommended on the lunch special). Best place for lobster in 626.
  • Daniel T.

    Daniel T.

    1/4/2021
    Picked up some lunch from Newport over the weekend and they prepped in record time (15 min).

    The food is absolutely delicious: Newport Special Crab, Beef Luc Lac, Pea Shoots (small leaf), and rice. Everything was piping hot and eaten as soon as we got home.

    The staff is efficient and super-friendly. Highly, highly recommend.
  • Albert S.

    Albert S.

    3/23/2021
    The prices are great, the portions are huge, very authentic, very fast service and always busy. Great Chinese seafood. Restaurant gets very crowded, people start to line up 30 minutes before it opens. Good thing they move people in and out pretty quickly. If you are in the 626 area, you must at least try Newport Seafood once in your lifetime.
  • June3313 ..

    June3313 ..

    4/9/2021
    This is our first time coming to the restaurant and we were very impressed with their efforts to space guests out for indoor dining and provided hand sanitizer at every table. Additionally, they provided disposable cups for water and tea to ensure safety for their guests during COVID.

    We ordered the house special lobster, thai basil stir fried clams, spot prawns, and steamed fish. The house special lobster was super fragrant from all the aromatics and also had a light but buttery finish. The lobster was savory and tender with a sweet finish. The steamed fish was super tender as well and was steamed to perfection. We also really like the stir fried clams because all the clams were super fresh and the thai basil rounded out the flavors very well. We were very satisfied with our meals and you can tell they put a lot of care into their food!
  • Natalia J.

    Natalia J.

    5/9/2021
    This is my favorite place to come for steamed shrimp. They have the best ginger sauce to dip it in and it's incredibly hot and fresh when it comes out. I love it so much. Everything else here I could take it or leave it, you could get about the same kind of stuff at any restaurant in SGV. But the shrimp here is  the best.
  • Jennifer T.

    Jennifer T.

    12/29/2020
    This restaurant was very nice and spacious. There were a lot of people but the employees thrived and was very friendly. There was a lot of food options so i definitely recommend eating here!
  • Mandy W.

    Mandy W.

    1/9/2021
    Visited Newport Seafood on a weekday afternoon.

    We called in an order:
    -House and Seafood Crispy Noodles
    -Honey Walnut Shrimp
    -Salt & Pepper Pork Chop
    -Steamed Rice

    *All items were in the lunch menu except for the walnut shrimp, but it's a must order for us anyhoo.

    Once you walk through the door, you'll notice signs encouraging social distance and directing you where to stand. Entire team was wearing masks and gloves. Quick transaction at the register and completed orders are placed at the table on the side.

    Highly recommend and will definitely be back.
  • Danny L.

    Danny L.

    4/11/2021
    Newport Seafood, definitely a staples in San Gabriel.

    Lobster Newport Special - fantastic sauce with a nice kick of spiciness secondary to the jalapeno.  Piping hot and large chunks of meat.  I easily counted 4-5 claw pieces in our order.

    You can ask for the smaller lobsters 3-4 pounds or the large one at 5-6 pounds. The smaller lobster with a portion of garlic noodles is more than enough to feed 3, maybe 4, people comfortably. The sauce they use is amazing and has some great, great flavors.

    Can't wait to eat at this spot again soon.
  • Alice Y.

    Alice Y.

    11/29/2020
    Every time I go here it's so consistent and always super tasty. We always order all the "staple" dishes which are pretty much the ones with the pictures in the menu. Lobster, crab, salt and pepper shrimp, XO beef, the braised tofu, and clams with black bean sauce. Would go here all the time if the wait wasn't so long. But consistently at the top of my Go-To Chinese restaurants.

    When it opens back up, be sure to get the XO sauce. It's so delish and goes with so many dishes. I always have a backup bottle in my fridge and eat it with my fried rice and even add it into my stir fried veggies.

    Use the leftover sauce from the crab and lobster with green onions and sauté it with white rice for an amazing at home meal.

    Parking is easy. Either on the street or they have valet in the lot for a very reasonable price of $2 or $3.
  • Edward S.

    Edward S.

    3/18/2021
    Here's what to do. Order the Newport Special Lobster, and make sure you get a six-pound lobster so that there's enough meat. Also, get it with noodles, and don't worry if you don't see noodles on the menu. They'll know what to do. Remember to get Beef Loc Lac, Shrimp with Walnut, and Sautéed Pea Sprouts.

    The lobster is fried with a sauce of garlic, scallions, and sometimes chilies, black pepper, and butter. The lobster chunks are firm and sweet. The sauce is insanely tasty. You will want to pick each bit of scallion just for another taste. And when no one is looking, you will lick the shells. There are also some tidbits of red lobster roe. The noodles also soak up all the flavors really well.

    The Beef Loc Lac are tender morsels of filet mignon cubes that inspired by French cuisine, namely lots of butter and black pepper.
  • Nary S.

    Nary S.

    11/5/2020
    The best special lobster in all of LA! My family's go to place when we are in the area.
  • Shreya M.

    Shreya M.

    10/9/2020
    Ordered the Newport special lobster w/ garlic noodles. We got the small size, which ended up being a 3.25lb lobster and the meal cost $123 with tax and tip. While we ordered this for 2 people, it could've easily satisfied 4 hungry bellies. We had plenty of leftovers.

    These are the best lobster noodles I've ever had - tons of flavor with just the right amount of kick and generous chunks of lobster. The hype was definitely worth it and I look forward to my next trip here!
  • David P.

    David P.

    12/23/2020
    Hand down, these are the best lobster noodles that I have ever had. This restaurant is open during the COVID pandemic and you can order for pickup. Their phone lines get busy, so keep trying to call until you get through. It is worth it.

    They have a large parking lot and everyone working there was wearing a mask and taking the proper safety precautions.

    You can ask for the smaller lobsters 3-4 pounds or the large one at 5-6 pounds. The smaller lobster with a portion of garlic noodles is more than enough to feed 3, maybe 4, people comfortably. The sauce they use is amazing and has some great, great flavors.

    It is not a cheap meal, we end up spending about $120 every time we eat here, but it is worth every penny. Please support them, they are awesome!
  • Jessica K.

    Jessica K.

    11/30/2020
    First time having Newport takeout during covid, but I have been here many times pre covid. I ordered over the phone Monday afternoon and they said the order would be ready in 10-15 minutes. They still do their lunch specials which come with rice but no soup. I ordered the lunch special Kung pao squid, Kung pao chicken, and pea sprouts. I also ordered the dinner price for beef loc lac. Food is packaged in microwave safe plastic containers and the rice is packed in to go paper containers. The food is the same quality as before and tastes delicious. I had just some of the extra sauce from the Kung pao squid with rice and it was great too!
  • D G.

    D G.

    4/27/2021
    Best seafood fried rice I've had in a long time! We had just visited San Gabriel Nursery nearby. We were craving some seafood fried rice and steamed fish. We knew there were lots of restaurants in the area, but didn't know which one to visit. Luckily Yelp directed us to this place.

    There is no signage outside that indicates the name of the restaurant. It was clear from the parking lot that it was a popular place. Luckily there were still enough parking spots for additional guests.

    There is limited dine-in seating due to COVID. Guests need to sign in on the tablet. We were called within a few minutes.

    In addition to the seafood fried rice, we had yummy steamed rock cod, steamed live shrimp and Chinese broccoli. The food came out quick. Service was pretty attentive. The place was clean too.

    I'm not used to spending extra money for seafood but it sounds like the prices we paid were reasonable relatively speaking. That said, I will definitely come back to try some other dishes.
  • See More